SEM Europe 2016

The Shell Eco-marathon (SEM) will be held for the eighth year, and hosted for the very first time in Singapore this year. As part of the Make the Future Singapore ideas festival, Shell Eco-marathon Asia (SEMA 2017) will also see the introduction of the inaugural Drivers’ World Championship Asia – where teams race head-to-head to see who has the most energy-efficient driver.

This year, there will be seven student teams from Malaysia, vying for top honours at SEMA 2017. There is a total of 124 teams from 20 countries participating in the competition.

Here’s the list of Malaysian teams:

SEMA 2017

Just so you know, Malaysia teams swept four top awards at SEMA last year. Teams from UiTM Shah Alam and University of Malaya picked up awards in the Prototype Category for hydrogen fuel type vehicles. Next, Monash University won the CNG-fuel type Prototype Category, while UiTM Shah Alam took top honours in the UrbanConcept Category, for its hydrogen fuel vehicle.

In case you’re curious, here’s how Shell Eco-marathon works.

Teams can build one of two types of cars. Prototype – futuristic and highly aerodynamic vehicles; or UrbanConcept – highly economical and innovative vehicles that resemble today’s road-going cars.

SEM Europe 2016

There’s a total of three different categories of vehicle types:

  • Internal Combustion Engine (ICE): includes gasoline, diesel, ethanol (biofuel), Gas to Liquid (GTL) made from natural gas, CNG (compressed natural gas)
  • Hydrogen fuel cell
  • Battery electric power
READ ALSO  A closer look at “Project M” – Shell’s ultra fuel-efficient urban concept car

Vehicles will need to undergo and pass a detailed technical inspection before they are allowed onto the track. Once given the green light, the vehicles head on to the track to see how far they can go with the least amount of fuel.

Student teams don’t just need to come out with the most creative ideas for the vehicles, but are also required to manage their projects from start to finish.

Winning teams stand to win a USD3,000 prize for their school.

SEM Europe 2016

Apart from fuel efficiency awards, there’s also a selection of off-track awards where teams are rewarded for communication and vehicle design. There’s even an extra award for a team that has shown the greatest team spirit and perserverance. Winners receive prize money totalling USD3,000 as well as a trophy on-stage during the Awards Ceremony.

Track practice sessions and technical inspections will begin on Thursday, 16 March, with official Competition Day 1 kicking off on Friday, 17 March.

The final competition takes place on Sunday, 19 March, which will also include the Drivers’ World Championship Asia competition and Awards Ceremony.

SEM Europe 2016

Make a date

Make the Future Singapore takes place from 16-19 March 2017 at Changi Exhibition Centre, Singapore.

The festival is open to public, so if you’re in the Lion City during these dates, do pay a visit.

READ ALSO  V-Power : Real Performer or Over-priced Unleaded Petrol?

For more information, visit

For on-the-ground updates, follow me at, as well as on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

#MaketheFuture #shellecomarathon #SEMA2017


  • Show Comments (0)

You May Also Like

SEMA2018 Drivers World Championship Asia Finals

Shell Eco-marathon Asia 2018: 1-2-3 finish for Indonesian teams at Drivers’ World Championship Asia

Asia’s fastest and most energy-efficient drivers battled it out at the Drivers’ World Championship ...

SEMA2018 DWC Asia Final

Shell Eco-marathon Asia 2018: Thailand shatters mileage record with 2,341.1km/L run

Shell’s Make the Future bright ideas and innovation festival came to a close yesterday. ...

SEM2018 UrbanConcept

Shell Eco-marathon Asia 2018: Indonesian teams show dominance once again

The UrbanConcept category of the Shell Eco-marathon (SEM) Asia 2018 came to a close ...

Shell Eco-marathon

1-2 finish for Malaysian teams at Shell Eco-marathon Asia 2017

Three-time champion Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) Shah Alam, has again emerged victorious in the ...

Shell Eco-marathon Asia 2019

Make the Future Live Malaysia kicks off at Sepang International Circuit

Make the Future Live Malaysia hits Sepang International Circuit (SIC) from 29 April till ...